Comparison between two poket geiger counters

More
1 year 1 month ago - 1 year 1 month ago #6394 by GuzzoTheLuke
 As an X Ray tech I'm exposed every working day to ionizing radiation and I'm a little bit skeptical about the dosimetry provided (film dosimetry).The interest in radioactivity measuring brought me to buy my first commercial Geiger counter (ignoring the terrible RadiationD v1.1 CAJOE with J305 GM tube). I've decided to buy the Quarta Rad's Radex ONE and subsequently a brand free geiger/personal dosimeter on Aliexpress.
In this topic I want to analyze the two devices and compare each other in order to valuate the accuracy of the cheap one and give you my opinion about the products. 

Radex ONE Outdoor edition  

I bought this really nice geiger counter/dosimeter for around 150€ thanks to a big discount offered by a reseller (the actual cost of this product is about 300€, a madness for the product).It work out of a single AAA battery replaceable, but really durable (it is rated 3000 hours of operation time in silent mode). I've been using it for 4 month now and the battery is still the first installed using the geiger in vibration mode.
The device has a strong shell although is plastic made (with useless belt-clip) and the menu is quite friendly and easy to use with basic functions and cumulated dose stored in non volatile memory.